DOK LEIPZIG 31 OCTOBER – 6 NOVEMBER 2016
59TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons


Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons


CATALOGUE TEXT
In the small town of Lunguleţu in Southern Romania there are around 1,000 farmers who own the same number of tractors and produce 100,000 tons of cabbage and potatoes per year. Every one of these thousand farmers will then stand on the local market square in summer after the potato harvest and in late autumn after the cabbage harvest, sacks of cabbage and potatoes piled up in huge pyramids as far as the eye can see. Any attempt to make a profit by selling the produce is, of course, in vain in view of this absurd overproduction. The diligent farmers underbid each other until they end up either losing money or ploughing the harvest under right away.

When director Şerban Georgescu buys a ton of white cabbage for his mother for 20 Euros here, he begins to wonder and decides to spend a year in Lunguleţu and cultivate cabbage and potatoes himself. He investigates why the farmers voluntarily enter this economic dead end. Even though the mayor and a few villagers have some good ideas for finding a way out of this misery, a common solution is not in sight. The suspicion among them sits deep and the fear of any kind of cooperative is great – the memories of expropriation under Ceauşescu are still too fresh, potential success by competition seems too tempting, even if they are threatened by bankruptcy every day.

Lina Dinkla

/

/

/
Credits
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotation to the Official Selection films were written by the members of the Selection Committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2016 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 31. OKTOBER – 6. NOVEMBER 2016
59. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons


Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons


KATALOGTEXT
In dem kleinen Ort Lunguleţu im Süden Rumäniens gibt es etwa 1.000 Bauern mit ebenso vielen Traktoren, die jedes Jahr an die 100.000 Tonnen Kohl und Kartoffeln produzieren. Diese tausend Bauern stehen dann im Sommer nach der Kartoffelernte und im Spätherbst nach der Kohlernte auf dem lokalen Marktplatz: Kohlköpfe und Kartoffelsäcke zu riesigen Pyramiden aufgetürmt, so weit das Auge reicht. Der Versuch, das Gemüse gewinnbringend weiterzuverkaufen, ist bei der absurden Überproduktion natürlich ein vergebliches Unterfangen. Die emsigen Bauern unterbieten sich gegenseitig so lange, bis sie am Ende draufzahlen oder die Ernte gleich wieder unters Feld pflügen.

Als der Regisseur Șerban Georgescu hier für seine Mutter eine Tonne Weißkohl für 20 Euro ersteht, wird er stutzig und beschließt, im Selbstversuch ein Jahr in Lunguleţu zu verbringen und selbst Kartoffeln und Kohl anzubauen. Er geht der Frage auf den Grund, warum sich die Bauern freiwillig in diese wirtschaftliche Sackgasse begeben. Obwohl der Bürgermeister und einige Dorfbewohner gute Ideen haben, Wege aus dieser Misere zu finden, ist eine gemeinsame Lösung nicht in Sicht. Das Misstrauen zwischen ihnen sitzt tief, und die Angst vor einer Kooperative ist groß – zu nah sind noch die Erinnerungen an die Enteignung unter Ceaușescu, zu verlockend scheint der mögliche Erfolg durch Wettbewerb, auch wenn täglich der Bankrott droht.

Lina Dinkla

/

/

/
Credits
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Texte zu den Filmen in der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2016 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.