DOK LEIPZIG 31 OCTOBER – 6 NOVEMBER 2016
59TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

#uploading_holocaust


#uploading_holocaust




CATALOGUE TEXT
It’s like an initiation ritual. Every year 25,000 Israeli pupils and students go on a trip to Poland, visiting four concentration camps, three mass graves and two ghettos in seven days. It’s a journey to the dead, their roots, and themselves: as Jews and citizens of Israel. They document everything on their smartphones: hotel rooms, barracks, shooting ranges, themselves, their friends. The material shared on YouTube is the basis of this film – and it’s revealing. The two Israeli directors Sagi Bornstein and Udi Nir set contemporary recordings against videotapes from the 1980s. How will the memory change when there are no more contemporary witnesses? What can the crumbling sites still reveal? When will the rituals become hollow?

The Holocaust is the narrative of Israel, the constituent element of the state, even more than Zionism. That’s what the young people are taught to believe. The concept is historical imagination and immersion. They are supposed to feel the squeeze of the cattle wagons, the hardness of the narrow pallets and the oppression of the gas chambers. Horror 2.0. The video material also shows, however, how much smarter the young people are. There are no stupid questions, documentary filmmaker Marcel Ophüls once said, only stupid answers.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

/

/

/
Credits
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotation to the Official Selection films were written by the members of the Selection Committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2016 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 31. OKTOBER – 6. NOVEMBER 2016
59. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

#uploading_holocaust


#uploading_holocaust




KATALOGTEXT
Es ist wie ein Initiationsritual. Jedes Jahr brechen 25.000 israelische Schüler und Studenten auf zu einer Fahrt nach Polen. An sieben Tagen besuchen sie vier Konzentrationslager, drei Massengräber und zwei Gettos. Es ist eine Reise zu den Toten, ihren Wurzeln und zu sich selbst: als Juden und als Staatsbürger Israels. Mit ihren Handys dokumentieren sie alles: Hotelzimmer, Baracken, Schießstände, sich selbst, ihre Freunde. Das auf Youtube geteilte Material ist Grundlage des Films – und es erzählt viel. Die beiden israelischen Regisseure Sagi Bornstein und Udi Nir konfrontieren gegenwärtige Aufnahmen mit Videos aus den Achtzigern. Wie wird sich das Gedenken verändern, wenn keine Zeitzeugen mehr da sind? Was können die Orte, die zunehmend zerfallen, dann noch erzählen? Wann werden Rituale hohl?

Der Holocaust ist das Narrativ Israels, das staatskonstituierende Element, mehr noch als der Zionismus. Darauf werden die Jugendlichen eingeschworen. Das Konzept lautet: historische Imagination und Immersion. Sie sollen die Enge der Viehwaggons, die Härte der schmalen Pritschen und die Beklemmung in den Gaskammern fühlen. Horror 2.0. Das Videomaterial zeigt aber auch, um wie viel klüger die jungen Leute sind. Es gibt keine dummen Fragen, hat der Dokumentarfilmer Marcel Ophüls einmal gesagt, nur dumme Antworten.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

/

/

/
Credits
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Texte zu den Filmen in der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2016 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.