DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Pavlensky – Man and Might


Pavlensky – Man and Might




CATALOGUE TEXT
Pavlensky vs. Putin – an unequal fight. But David takes the risk and beats Goliath on exactly the field that the Russian State is particularly tetchy about claiming as its own: in public space and under the eyes of the international community – but silently. Petr Pavlensky is an exceptional artist, a man of pain. A man who risks everything: his freedom, his family. Who consistently uses his body. The vulnerability he displays is his most important tool. When he sews his lips shut it’s a cry. When he wraps himself in barbed wire it’s a modern age crown of thorns. He protests against violence by using violence on himself. His actions are based on a strong symbolism that everyone understands but that doesn’t express anything directly. So the police and national intelligence service helplessly fall back on the old methods of the Stalinist era: prison, psychiatry, accusations of “hooliganism”.

Director Irene Langemann followed Pavlensky over a long period of time. She confidently interweaves staged scenes, reconstructions, archive and documentary material, offering Pavlensky and his artistic interventions the space they need so that it’s not the spectacular element that is brought to the fore but their complexity.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominated for Goethe-Institute Documentary Film Prize
Credits
Original Title: Pawlenski – Der Mensch und die Macht
Country: Germany
Year: 2016
Language: Russian
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 99 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Irene Langemann
Producer: Wolfgang Bergmann
Cinematographer: Maksim Tarasyugin, Franz Koch
Editor: Lena Rem
Music: Daniel Langemann
Sound: Anna Sobova, Aleksandr Lemeshev
Script: Irene Langemann
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 31. OKTOBER – 6. NOVEMBER 2016
59. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Pawlenski – Der Mensch und die Macht


Pawlenski – Der Mensch und die Macht




KATALOGTEXT
Pawlenski versus Putin – ein ungleicher Kampf. Aber David wagt es und schlägt Goliath auf exakt jenem Feld, das der russische Staat besonders empfindlich für sich reklamiert: im öffentlichen Raum und mit internationaler Aufmerksamkeit – aber schweigend. Pjotr Pawlenski ist ein Ausnahmekünstler, ein Schmerzensmann. Einer, der alles riskiert: seine Freiheit, seine Familie. Einer, der konsequent seinen Körper einsetzt. Die ausgestellte Verletzlichkeit ist sein wichtigstes Instrument. Wenn er sich die Lippen zunäht, ist das ein Schrei. Wenn er sich in Stacheldraht wickelt, ist das die Dornenkrone der Neuzeit. Er protestiert gegen Gewalt, indem er sich selbst Gewalt antut. Seine Aktionen basieren auf einer starken Symbolik, die jeder versteht, die aber nichts direkt ausspricht. So greifen Polizei und staatlicher Geheimdienst hilflos auf die alten Methoden der Stalinzeit zurück: Gefängnis, Psychiatrie, der Vorwurf des „Hooliganismus“.

Die Regisseurin Irene Langemann begleitet Pawlenski über einen längeren Zeitraum. Souverän verschränkt sie Inszenierung, Rekonstruktion, Archiv- und dokumentarisches Material miteinander. Der Film bietet Pawlenski und seinen künstlerischen Interventionen den Raum, den sie brauchen, sodass nicht das Spektakuläre, sondern das Komplexe in den Vordergrund rückt.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominiert für Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

/

/

/
Credits
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Texte zu den Filmen in der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2016 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.